Berlin, Germany (May 19, 2017)—The annual Audio Engineering Society European convention kicks off tomorrow in Berlin, running through Tuesday, May 23. Being held at the Maritim Hotel Berlin (Stauffenbergstrasse), the convention will offer papers, workshops, panels and more, and will begin with opening ceremonies that will include the traditional presentation of AES Awards, recognizing individuals who have made significant contributions to the Society and/or to the field of audio engineering.

The Fellowship Award is being presented to Tapio Lokki, for bringing sensory evaluation to research of concert hall acoustics.

Related Articles

Dr. Sennheiser to Lecture at AES Europe

AES at NAMM Announced

AES NYC Convention Opens Registration

The Board Of Governors Award is given for outstanding contributions to the Audio Engineering Society. The Berlin recipients of the BOG Awards are Philip Jackson, in recognition of co-chairing the 2016 AES International Conference on Sound Field Control; and Michael Williams, in recognition of chairing the 140th AES Convention in Paris, France, June 4–7, 2016.

The Distinguished Service Award is given in recognition of extraordinary service to the Society over a period of years. This award will be presented to Mark Yonge, in recognition of exceptional contributions to, and management of, AES standards.

The Silver Medal is given in recognition of outstanding development or achievement in the field of audio engineering. Being recognized with a Silver Medal is Wolfgang Klippel, in recognition of outstanding achievements in the understanding, modeling and control of the behavior of loudspeaker and headphone transducers.

In addition to the awards above, outstanding Papers from those submitted for a given convention are recognized during Convention opening ceremonies. Papers Co-Chairs for the 142nd Convention, Jamie Angus and Thomas Sporer, have announced that Florian Straube, Frank Schultz, David Albanés Bonillo, and Stefan Weinzierl will be presented with the 142nd AES International Convention Paper Award. The winning paper is titled “An Analytical Approach for Optimizing the Curving of Line Source Arrays.”

Additionally, AES Student Technical Paper Award Coordinator Dr. Rob Maher has announced the paper titled “Joint Parameter Optimization of Differentiated Discretization Scheme for Audio Circuits” as the winner of the AES Berlin 2017 Student Technical Paper Award. The award will be presented to co-authors François Germain and Kurt James Werner.

AES Berlin Registration

Audio Engineering Society