Studio City, CA (November 6, 2017)—The Motion Picture Sound Editors will honor Kathryn Bigelow with its annual Filmmaker Award at the MPSE Golden Reel Awards ceremony February 18, 2018, in Los Angeles.

The director of such films as Detroit, Zero Dark Thirty and The Hurt Locker, is being recognized for her contributions to the art of cinema. Bigelow is the only woman to win an Academy Award for Best Director (in 2010 for The Hurt Locker). The Iraq War drama won six Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Editing, Best Sound Mixing and Best Sound Editing.

Related Articles

Sennheiser Ships HandMic Digital

Renkus-Heinz Rolls into Lake Wales Church

Alchemy Adds Second Foley Stage

“Kathryn Bigelow’s films have that rare quality of challenging our preconceptions by moving us and creating moments of powerful empathy,” said MPSE president Tom McCarthy. “She is a true artist. We are extremely proud to recognize her tireless contributions to our industry and culture with our Filmmaker Award.”

“Collaboration with the sound editor is a gratifying and inspiring time in the post process,” said Bigelow. “It is the moment that the film wraps itself around you, revealing its final form. I am honored to receive this award from my colleagues in sound editing.”

Past recipients of the MPSE Filmmaker Award include Guillermo del Toro, Sam Raimi, Darren Aronofsky, George Lucas, Ang Lee, Michael Bay, Steven Spielberg, Clint Eastwood, Brian Grazer and Gale Anne Hurd.