Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


METAlliance Certifies First Neumann Mic

Hollywood, CA (August 21, 2009)--Neumann’s KM D series microphones have been certified by The Music Engineering and Technology Alliance.

 Pictured (L-R) at Capitol Recording
Studios are METAlliance’s Al
Schmitt; Neumann/Sennheiser Sales
Mgr. Thom Salisbury; Chuck Ainlay,
George Massenburg; Phil Ramone,
Ed Cherney, and Neumann/
Sennheiser Market Development
Mgr. Robby Scharf.Hollywood, CA (August 21, 2009)–Neumann’s KM D series microphones have been certified by The Music Engineering and Technology Alliance.

“This is a great honor for us,” stated Robb Blumenreder, Neumann/Sennheiser Team Mgr. “The KM D Series of Solution-D microphones represents a milestone achievement in microphone technology for us at Neumann. This certification by the METAlliance certainly validates all of the hard work we put into this product.”

George Massenburg remarked, “Quiet and transparent, the KM D is one of the ‘fastest’ mics I’ve ever heard.” Al Schmitt added, “I love this mic – everything sounds so crisp and clean. I wish I had ten of them.” Chuck Ainlay stated, “Listening to this mic was a jaw dropping experience.”

The Neumann KM D microphones are the digital counterparts of the well-known, miniature microphones from the 180 Series. The microphones incorporate a patented Neumann A/D converter with a dynamic range that exceeds the capsule, thus enabling the converter to provide the audio recording system with a pure reproduction of the acoustic capsule. The KM D microphones are a part of the Solution-D family and have been developed in accordance with the AES standard for digital microphones (AES 42).

The METAlliance is comprised of a group of globally-recognized, award-winning audio engineers and producers who have been deeply involved in establishing techniques and technical standards that are the foundation of modern music recording. The METAlliance founders are Chuck Ainlay, Ed Cherney, Frank Filipetti, George Massenburg, Phil Ramone, Elliot Scheiner and Al Schmitt.