Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SMPTE Elects Hoffmann as New President

SMPTE’s membership has elected Hans Hoffmann to serve as SMPTE president for the 2021-22 term.

Hans Hoffmann
Hans Hoffmann has been elected SMPTE’s new president.

White Plains, NY (December 15, 2020)—SMPTE’s membership has elected Hans Hoffmann, head of media fundamentals and production at the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), to serve as SMPTE president for the 2021-22 term.

Hoffmann currently serves as SMPTE executive vice president and, on Jan. 1, 2021, will become the first European to serve as the Society’s president. A SMPTE Fellow, he joined the society as a young engineer and progressed through roles leading standardization groups, acting as chair of various technology committees, and serving as a board governor for the EMEA Region, vice president of standards, and vice president of finance before becoming executive vice president.

SMPTE Revises IMF Standards

Hoffmann has been involved with SMPTE, the EBU, the ITU, and other international standards bodies throughout his career, and more recently with newer groups including founding the Inter SDO, an informal but valuable group of international standards bodies that meets regularly to compare work. He has decades of experience working on future media production technologies, with a current focus on media in the cloud.

From 1993 to 2000, Hoffmann worked at the Institut fuer Rundfunktechnik in research and development for new television production technologies. In 2000, he joined the EBU as a senior engineer in the technical department. Hoffmann has chaired the EBU project groups P/BRRTV and P/PITV, which were both involved in standardization activities such as SDTI and file formats. Hoffmann is a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the FKTG (Germany). He earned his diploma in telecommunication engineering from the University of Applied Sciences in Munich and earned his Ph.D. at Brunel University West London, at the School of Engineering and Design.

Hoffmann is the 2020 winner of FKTG’s Richard Theile Medal for outstanding services in television technology. The honor recognizes his services in the development of HDTV and UHDTV television systems and his significant contribution to international standardization committees.