Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Audio Engineering Society announces first time Mary Lea Simpson scholarship winner

The organisation has announced Christian Steinmetz as the inaugural winner of the Mary Lea Simpson memorial scholarship

The AES has announced Christian Steinmetz as the first Mary Lea Simpson memorial scholarship winner.

The scholarship is named after Mary Lea Simpson, a former graduate of the audio production programme at the New England Institute of Art. It is awarded to a limited number of full-time undergraduate students in their final year at a North American college or university undertaking an audio engineering/recording arts programme.

Steinmetz, who currently is completing a dual major BS in electrical engineering and BA in audio technology at Clemson University, is also the chief engineer at the Clemson radio station, WSBF-FM, and producer for WSBF Live Sessions.

Steinmetz’s previous work includes interning for Cirrus Logic, designer of DSP integrated circuits. He also has experience in working as a researcher, pursuing work related to audio signal processing for music production.

The scholarship is administered by AES Educational Foundation president Don Puluse and chair of the foundation’s Mary Lea Simpson scholarship committee, Barry Marshall.