Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


BAFTA 2020 Sound and Original Score winners

1917 won big at this year's BAFTA awards

It’s safe to say it’s been an exciting year for film, and as technology advances the sound becomes ever more encapsulating; an essential piece to the story. Here, you’ll find a list of the winners (and nominees) of the BAFTA 2020 film awards, which took place last night, in the Sound and Original Score categories. Icelandic composer Hildur Gudnadóttir, who already bagged the Best Original Score at the Golden Globes for Joker, being the first solo woman to win an original score Golden Globe, has also won Best Original Score at the BAFTAs. 1917 won in the sound category this year, not to mention coming out on top as Outstanding British Film, Best Film, and for Best Director, Production Design and Special Visual Effects.


WINNER: 1917 – Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson.


Joker – Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic.

Le Mans ’66 – David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester.

Rocketman – Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood.

Original Score:

WINNER: Joker – Hildur Guðnadóttir.


1917 – Thomas Newman.

Jojo Rabbit – Michael Giacchino.

Little Women – Alexandre Desplat.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams.

Also of note is the winner of the Best Documentary award, For Sama, the score for which was composed by Nainita Desai, who we recently interviewed about her exciting career. You can view the interview here.