Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Grammy Award winners for production revealed

This year the awards’ winners reflected the increasingly diverse artists and genres of today's music business, and it was a great year for women in music

The 61st Annual Grammy Awards have been announced as of Sunday February 10, recognising production, engineering, mixing, remixing and mastering.

This year the awards’ winners reflected the increasingly diverse artists and genres of today’s music business, and it was a great year for women in music. Cardi B made history as the first solo woman to win Best Rap Album, while the single, “This Is America,” by Childish Gambino took both Song of the Year and Record of the Year, marking the first time a rap track won both categories.

Also, for the first time, there were eight nominees in each of the General Field categories: Record of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year and Best New Artist. This year’s nominees were reportedly selected from more than 21,000 submissions across 84 categories.

The Best Immersive Audio Album category win went to Alan Parsons, Dave Donnelly and P.J. Olsson for their work on Eye In The Sky – 35th Anniversary Edition. That meant that Oslo-based producer Morten Lindberg, nominated in the category for both Sommerro: Ujamaa & the Iceberg and Folketoner, continued his record losing streak of 26 nominations and zero wins since his first Grammy nomination in 2004.

Pharrell Williams won Producer of the Year, Non-Classical, whilst Classical Producer of the Year was Blanton Alspaugh. The Best Engineered Album, Classical was Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 11, with engineers Shawn Murphy and Nick Squire, and mastering engineer, Tim Martyn.

This year’s production winners are:

Record of The Year

“This Is America”

Childish Gambino

Donald Glover & Ludwig Göransson, producers; Derek “MixedByAli” Ali & Riley Mackin, engineers/mixers; Mike Bozzi, mastering engineer

Album of The Year

Golden Hour

Kacey Musgraves

Ian Fitchuk, Kacey Musgraves & Daniel Tashian, producers; Craig Alvin & Shawn Everett, engineers/mixers; Ian Fitchuk, Kacey Musgraves & Daniel Tashian, songwriters; Greg Calbi & Steve Fallone, mastering engineers

Best Dance Recording


Silk City & Dua Lipa Featuring Diplo & Mark Ronson; Silk City, producers; Josh Gudwin, mixer

Best Historical Album

Voices of Mississippi: Artists And Musicians Documented By William Ferris

William Ferris, April Ledbetter & Steven Lance Ledbetter, compilation producers; Michael Graves, mastering engineer. (Various Artists)

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical


Julian Burg, Serban Ghenea, David “Elevator” Greenbaum, John Hanes, Beck Hansen, Greg Kurstin, Florian Lagatta, Cole M.G.N., Alex Pasco, Jesse Shatkin, Darrell Thorp & Cassidy Turbin, engineers; Chris Bellman, Tom Coyne, Emily Lazar & Randy Merrill, mastering engineers. (Beck)

Producer of The Year, Non-Classical

Pharrell Williams

Best Remixed Recording

“Walking Away” (Mura Masa Remix) Alex Crossan, remixer (Haim)

Best Immersive Audio Album

Eye In The Sky – 35th Anniversary Edition

Alan Parsons, surround mix engineer; Dave Donnelly, PJ Olsson & Alan Parsons, surround mastering engineers; Alan Parsons, surround producer. (The Alan Parsons Project)

Best Engineered Album, Classical

Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 11

Shawn Murphy & Nick Squire, engineers; Tim Martyn, mastering engineer. (Andris Nelsons & Boston Symphony Orchestra)

Producer of The Year, Classical

Blanton Alspaugh

Best Opera Recording

Bates: The (R)evolution Of Steve Jobs

Michael Christie, conductor; Sasha Cooke, Jessica E. Jones, Edward Parks, Garrett Sorenson & Wei Wu; Elizabeth Ostrow, producer (The Santa Fe Opera Orchestra)