Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Meyer Sound powers The Allman Brothers Band 50th anniversary show

The band is now dubbed “The Brothers”

Photos by Jay Blakesberg

The Allman Brothers Band celebrated their 50th anniversary with a concert on Tuesday evening at Madison Square Garden in New York City, with the help of none other than Meyer Sound.

The Allman Brothers Band is now dubbed “The Brothers”, and includes founding member Jaimoe and longtime members Warren Haynes, Derek Trucks, Oteil Burbridge, Marc Quinones, and Chuck Veavell along with guests Duane Trucks and Reese Wynans.

The one-night show was powered by a Meyer Sound system anchored by LEO and LYON linear line array loudspeakers and provided by rental partners UltraSound and PRG North America. The system configuration consisted of, per side (L/R), a main PA with 16 LEO loudspeakers, six flown 1100-LFC low-frequency control elements, main 180-degree arrays and 270-degree arrays of 18 LYON loudspeakers each, 18 rear LEOPARD compact loudspeakers and six centre rear LEOPARD loudspeakers, eight LEOPARD for front fill, and 10 1100-LFC control elements ground-stacked.

Derek Featherstone, FOH engineer and UltraSound CEO

“Bringing in UltraSound and PRG Audio with a Meyer Sound PA was the most logical option,” said Derek Featherstone, FOH engineer for the evening and CEO of UltraSound. “This decision was based on a number of variables. Most importantly, we have deployed the same set up for at least 12 Dead & Company 360-degree shows in this same room [MSG]. We wanted to approach this one-off event by eliminating as many unknowns as possible and the Meyer Sound LEO and LYON system has performed for us successfully in this environment.”

The UltraSound and PRG teams joined forces for a night to remember with, in addition to Featherstone behind the console, monitor engineer Bobby Tis, system engineer Michal Kacunel, monitor tech Chris Bedry, and audio engineers Mike Bollella, Paul White, Dustin Lewis and Chris Rushin.