Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The MPG 2020 Awards shortlist

This year's shortlist represents the talented female producers and engineers, including Marta Salogni, Katie Tavini and Isabel Gracefield

Dani Bennett-Spragg with band The Amazons

The Music Producers Guild has unveiled the shortlist for its 2020 Awards, which are set to take place on February 27, 2020, at Grosvenor House, London.

This year’s list reveals a few female producers and engineers in the running, including Marta Salogni (Bjork, M.I.A) nominated for Breakthrough Producer of the Year (last year’s winner for this accolade was another talented female producer Dani Bennett-Spragg), Katie Tavini (Decca Records, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) for Mastering Engineer of the Year and Isabel Gracefield (Adele, Sam Smith) in line for Breakthrough Engineer of the Year.

Managing director of MPG Awards, Tony Platt, commented: “It is always an exciting moment when we are able to reveal the wealth of talent reflected in the shortlists. The judging day comes next and it is a testament to the respect with which these Awards are now regarded, how seriously our judging panel takes their role in the process. Best of luck to all the nominees; I wish they could all win!”

Final judging will took place at Strongroom Studios on December 3, 2019.

Find the full shortlist of the 15 categories below:

UK Producer Of The Year
Cam Blackwood
Dan Carey
Nigel Godrich
Ben Baptie

Recording Engineer Of The Year
Cameron Craig
Daniel Moyler
Mike Horner

Mix Engineer Of The Year
Dan Grech-Marguerat
David Wrench
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Re-mixer Of The Year
Jon Hopkins
Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year
Carey Willetts
Marta Salogni
Sam Petts-Davies

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year
Francis Rossi (Status Quo)
George Daniel, Matthew Healy (The 1975)
James Blake

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year
Billy Halliday
Caesar Edmunds
Isabel Gracefield

International Producer Of The Year
Danger Mouse
Finneas O’Connell
John Congleton

Mastering Engineer Of The Year
John Davis
Katie Tavini
Matt Colton

UK Album Of The Year
Foals: ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost’
IDLES: ‘Joy as an Act of Resistance’
The 1975: ‘A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships’

UK Single Song Release Of The Year
Marika Hackman: ‘I’m not where you are’
Radiohead: ‘Ill Wind’
Stormzy: ‘Vossi Bop’

The A&R Award
Alex Gilbert
Ed Horrox
Jamie Nelson

Studio Of The Year
RAK Studios
Strongroom Studios
The Church Studios

The MPG 2020 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:
The MPG Inspiration Award
PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL
The Special Recognition Award

Tickets for the 2020 MPG Awards are now on sale here.

Find our exclusive interview with last year’s Breakthrough Engineer of the Year winner Dani Bennett-Spragg here.