Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


MPG Awards 2018 submission details revealed

Entries for next year’s MPG (Music Producers Guild) Awards will open on August 16, as the annual ceremony enters its 10th year.

Taking place on March 1 at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel and presented by 6 Music broadcaster Shaun Keaveny, organisers have promised that the 2018 outing will mark the event’s 10-year anniversary with ‘the biggest and glitziest’ bash yet. As ever, the MPG Awards will honour the most talented and innovative producers and engineers of the past 12 months, with previous winners including the likes of Sir George Martin, Youth, Paul Epworth, FKA Twigs, Brian Eno, Roni Size, Catherine Marks, Trevor Horn, Mark Ronson and Dave Stewart.

“In many cases it is the producer, not the label, that brings about artist success,” says Tony Platt, managing director of MPG Awards. “This is recognised and acknowledged in our Awards, which have built up an integrity respected throughout the production community.”

As in previous years, the nominations process is open to everyone. There are 13 categories where anyone can submit a name. Recording professionals and studio owners who would like to be considered are encouraged to get online and submit their own names, rather than relying on other people to do it for them.

Likewise, if you are a manager of a producer, engineer or self-producing artist, now is your chance to put your client’s name forward. The link for submissions is here and will be live from August 16:

“Winning an award shows that you have the respect of your peers because ultimately they are the people who have voted for you,” Platt added. “But before that can happen, you must submit your own name or the name of someone you think is worthy of consideration in a particular category.”

The MPG 2018 Awards categories open for public submission are:

UK Producer Of The Year

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by British Grove

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Mastering Engineer Of The Year

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation

UK Album Of The Year

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Studio Of The Year

The A&R Award

The MPG 2018 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note

The Award for Outstanding Contribution to UK Music, sponsored by PPL