Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


PLASA 2014: Lyttelton sound man Dominic Bilkey scoops Technical Theatre Award

The second TTA awards ceremony took place yesterday on the Theatres Trust Stage

The winners of the second Technical Theatre Awards, which celebrate the achievements of those working behind the scenes in theatre production, were revealed by Royal Opera House Covent Garden opera director Kasper Holten at PLASA London yesterday (7 October).

Sound designer Dominic Bilkey (pictured), currently sound manager at the Lyttelton Theatre on the South Bank, London, and previously head of sound at the Young Vic, scooped the award for Outstanding Achievement in Sound, sponsored by d&b audiotechnik. The runners-up were Adam Fisher, Ian Threlfall, Andy Brown, Tom Marshall and Pro Sound Awards winner Chris Mace.

Voting for the awards opened during the ABTT Theatre Show in London in June. 63 individuals and venues were nominated across 18 awards covering all disciplines of technical theatre.

“We’re thrilled at the success of the second Technical Theatre Awards at PLASA London, and want to thank everyone who nominated and came to the ceremony to celebrate the incredible work of so many,” says organiser Ian Taylor. “Since their conception, the TTAs have received a huge amount of support from both individuals and the industry as a whole. As we continue to develop and improve them, we look to the industry to get involved in supporting and shaping the future of the awards.

“As we go forward, we hope to develop relationships with industry associations and organisations to continue and improve the nomination process. These awards are for people working in the industry, created and operated by the industry, and we hope they will become an invaluable asset. We look forward to working with you all on next year’s TTAs.”

A full list of winners is available from the TTA website.