Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Pro Sound Awards 2015: The winners

The PSNEurope awards returned to the Ministry of Sound for the third time last night

The PSNEurope Pro Sound Awards returned to the Ministry of Sound for the third time last night (24 September).

The awards, in association with headline sponsor Sennheiser, opened with the (very popular) Martin Audio drinks reception, before Anna Mae’s served up southern US-inspired pulled pork, coleslaw and mac ’n’ cheese.

First up was the live and touring sound category, sponsored by d&b audiotechnik. Davide Lombardi, FOH engineer for Kate Bush’s comeback Before the Dawn tour, was named engineer of the year, with Major Tom, Meyer Sound and Autograph Sales & Installations picking up the award for best tour sound. Gareth Owen was awarded the best theatre sound gong for his sound design for Memphis.

Triple-Brit Award-winner Paul Epworth was on hand to present two awards: one to studio engineer of the year Matt Wiggins and one in absentia to Rising Star Riley MacIntyre, who was detained by visa problems in his native Canada. (Soundcraft once again lent its support to the Rising Star award). Independent Shoreditch facility Strongroom picked up the award for best studio, while Doug Sinclair and Howard Bargoff from Bang Post Production were recognised for best sound in post-production for the BBC’s Sherlock. The studio category was sponsored by Focusrite.

In the installation category (sponsored by Installation magazine) SSE’s L-Acoustics install at the Eventim Apollo was named best permanent installation project, and Thor McIntyre-Burnie and Tannoy’s Wind Tunnel Project best temporary installation project. Dimension Audio, Sports Technology and d&b audiotechnik were awarded team of the year for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

In broadcast audio, Warner Bros De Lane Lea was named best facility, with Sunset + Vine’s Volvo Ocean Race event of the year and BBC S&PP team of the year (for Strictly Come Dancing 2014).

Sennheiser’s D1 and Only ad campaign narrowly beat Martin Audio’s CDD to win best marketing initiative.

The two special awards, the Grand Prix and Lifetime Achievement prizes, were awarded to Dante developer Audinate and Abbey Road Studios’ long-serving studio manager Colette Barber, respectively.

The after party, sponsored by Renkus-Heinz, featured a magician, the Technicolor-sponsored photobooth and the one and only Dr Balloonman (probably the most in-demand man in the room).

Thanks to everyone who came… see you all next year!