Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Top talent named at Production Music Awards 2017

Top production talent in sync, media and advertising named at Production Music Awards 2017

Creative production talent in the music industry came together for the Production Music Awards in London on Friday (November 24) to celebrate the best music being made in the media, sync and advertising industries.

The awards celebrated music production in the latest advertising campaigns, films and television programmes, and were judged by a panel of 30 experts from across the industries. Entries were judged based on composition, originality, production quality, and fit to moving image.

Across 20 categories, 13 composition winners and seven sync winners were chosen, while a new award, the PRS Foundation Award for Best Newcomer, was also presented to composer Tim Benjamin (JW Media Music LTD).

Simon James, head of MCPS Production Music, said: “The Production Music Awards is such a great event, and this year once again it has shone the spotlight on the top shelf talent we enjoy in our business – writers, artists, producers, publishers, all working in concert – as well as the quality of their craft and diversity of style and creativity. Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees, who exemplify professionalism in production music and raise the standard of competition each year.”

Here’s the list of winners in the composition categories of this year’s awards:

Best Ambient / Minimalist Production Music Track: Drift Towards Pluto (Universal Publishing Production Music) Andrew Michael Britton, David Stephen Goldsmith & Michael Edward Rowe

Best Contemporary Classical Production Music Track: Things We Love (Extreme Music) Stefano Ruggeri, Rachel Wood & Tony Morley

Best Dance Production Music Track: Build Fire (Extreme Music) Nick Kingsley & Jade Pybus

Best Electronic Production Music Track: Don’t You Wanna (Bam Library) Thomas Didier & Bastien Deshayes

Best Folk Production Music Track: Calm Me Down (Universal Publishing Production Music) Adam Connor & Benjamin Ian Cocks

Best Hip Hop/Rap/Urban Production Music Track: This Is How We Do (JW Media Music Ltd) Hayley Briasco

Best Jazz Production Music Track: Blues for Jack (Extreme Music) Dr. Steven Trip & Larry Klein

Best Pop Production Music Track: Dance (Universal Publishing Production Music) Christopher Lewis & Vance Westlake

Best Rock Production Music Track: No Love (Extreme Music) TJ Stafford, Michael Smidi Smith & Russell Emanuel

Best Score Production Music Track: Mermaid Stories (Focus Music) Adam Saunders & Mark Stephen Cousins

Best Trailer Production Music Track: Injection (Cavendish Music) Glenn Herweijer, Ben Sumne & Nicholas Hill

Best World Production Music Track: African Safari (JW Media Music Ltd) James Parkey

Best Wildcard Production Music Track: Call The Shots (Universal Publishing Production Music) Louise Bernadette Dowd & Antoinette Halliday

Check out the full list of winners of the sync awards here.

The Production Music Awards were held in association with MCPS Production Music and sponsored by PRS for Music, PRS Foundation, The Musicians’ Union, Spitfire Audio and production collective, WMP.