Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Simon Hayes reveals Guardians of the Galaxy’s ‘Awesome Mix vol. 0’

Before Star-Lord's 'Awesome Mix vol. 1', there was volume zero

Before Awesome Mix vol. 1 – the name of the soundtrack for Guardians of the Galaxy – there was Awesome Mix vol. 0, a playlist put together by director James Gunn and production sound mixer Simon Hayes and used between takes on the set of the 2014 Marvel Studios film, Robot 6 reports.

Gunn explains on Facebook:

As many of you know, music is an extremely important part of Guardians of the Galaxy. I chose the songs on Awesome Mix ahead of time, and even included them in the script. Where possible, the songs were played live on set – when you see the gang walking down the hall to Cherry Bomb, they were actually walking down the hall to Cherry Bomb. Likewise, the score by Tyler Bates was written largely before we started shooting, and we blared that sucker on set so the actors and cameras would all move in unison.

On lighter days, our master soundman Simon Hayes would also play music on set between takes to keep people’s energy up. He did this while shooting the credit sequence in the Temple of Morag, and he also did it for the Boot of Jemiah, so we could keep the extras hyped and alive and feeling like they were in a bar atmosphere. Being that these were night shoots, it helped to keep people awake as well! Simon took requests for the credit scene, but for the Boot of Jemiah he asked me to put together an AWESOME playlist of high-energy party tunes. So I did, featuring some of my favorite tunes. My assistant Simon Hatt (50% of British people are named Simon) just found this list and sent it to me. So I thought I’d share it with you in case you wanted to make your own BOOT OF JEMIAH PLAYLIST – or, as known from now on, Awesome Mix Volume Zero.

1. Never Wanted to Dance – Mindless Self Indulgence
2. Party Hard – Andrew WK
3. The Way It Was – Aceyalone (feat. Bionik)
4. I Like It, I Love It – Lyrics Born
5. Let’s Dance to Joy Division – The Wombats
6. Start Wearing Purple – Gogol Bordello
7. Ben Vereen – Pigeon John
8. Teenagers – My Chemical Romance
9. Black Fist – Juskwam and Lyrikill
10. Timebomb – The Old 97’s

Listen to Gunn and Hayes’ Awesome Mix vol. 0 below.

Awesome Mix Volume Zero from mattymurdock on 8tracks Radio.

Hayes recorded the dialogue for Guardians of theGalaxy, based on the Marvel Comics super hero team of the same name, on DPA Microphones d:screet 4061 and 4071 lavalier mics.

Guardians of the Galaxy was released for digital download on 18 November and will come to Blu-ray, Blu-ray 3D and DVD on December 9, 2014.

Main photo: Marvel Studios, LLC