Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The Music Producers Guild 2017 Awards shortlist revealed

This annual event will take place in London on February 16, 2017 and will be presented by Absolute Radio DJ Christian O’Connell.

Tony Visconti, Paul Epworth, Fraser T. Smith and Nigel Godrich are among a host of internationally acclaimed producers vying for gongs at the 2017 Music Producers Guild Awards, with the shortlist announced.

Final judging will take place on December 5 and the winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on February 16, 2017 at Grosvenor House in London.

The newly introduced Self-Producing Artist category was particularly hard fought and the three who made it onto the shortlist are James Blake, Jeff Lynne and Tarek Musa of Spring King. Other notable entries include David Bowie’s Black Star, Michael Kiwanuka’s Love and Hate and Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool, all of which are shortlisted for UK Album of the Year.

Now in its ninth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards will feature 16 awards categories, recognising the best and brightest names in music production. Previous award winners have included Sir George Martin CBE, Youth, FKA Twigs, Brian Eno, Catherine Marks, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

Tony Platt, MPG Awards Group director, says: “The MPG Awards are totally unique because they reflect the UK music industry’s incredible wealth of creative talent and also the respect we all have for our colleagues. The roles of producers and engineers are now universally recognised and we can pat ourselves on the back for championing that recognition. The support and encouragement that these production teams give to artists is priceless and should be shouted about at every opportunity.”

The shortlists for each of the MPG 2017 Awards categories are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year

  • Paul Epworth
  • Nigel Godrich
  • Fraser T. Smith

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

  • Josh Homme
  • Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee
  • Tony Visconti

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation

  • Brett Cox
  • Andrew Hunt
  • Joel Laslett Pott

Self Producing Artist of the Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

  • James Blake
  • Jeff Lynne
  • Tarek Musa (Spring King)

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

  • Guy Massey
  • Mark Rankin
  • Richard Woodcraft

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

  • Manon Grandjean
  • Andrew Hunt
  • Jack Ruston

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

  • Tom Elmhirst
  • Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
  • Cenzo Townshend

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

  • John Davis
  • Barry Grint
  • Mandy Parnell

Re-Mixer of the Year

  • Disclosure (Howard & Guy Lawrence)
  • Matthew Herbert
  • Wideboys

UK Album Of The Year

  • Black Star – David Bowie
  • Love and Hate – Michael Kiwanuka
  • A Moon Shaped Pool – Radiohead

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

  • This Is What Your Came For – Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna
  • Burn The Witch – Radiohead
  • Pillowtalk – ZAYN

Studio Of The Year

  • Abbey Road Studios
  • British Grove Studios
  • RAK Studios

The A&R Award

  • Toby L & Tim Dellow (Transgressive Records)
  • Bart McDonagh (Domino Records)
  • Nigel Reeve (Warner Music International)

The winner of the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award, sponsored by PPL, will be announced soon, while the MPG Inspiration Award and the Special Recognition Award will be announced at the ceremony in February.

Tickets for the 2017 MPG Awards are now on sale.

Picture: 2016 Outstanding Contribution Youth with PPL Peter Leathem